DIY – my Color Run t-shirt

Somebody told me to preserve my Color Run t-shirt with vinegar.

I never verified this random tid bit of info, but I figured it won’t hurt.  After the “run” on Sunday, I took my shirt off (I was wearing a sports bra!) and sprayed vinegar on it.  I seriously HATE the smell of vinegar.

I did this in the sink, so I also splayed a bit of water on the shirt to blend in the power paint.

Side note – I totally should NOT have gone thru the leaf blower at the end of the Color Run.  That took off sooooo much power paint.  Nuts.

I also poured some salt on the shirt.  I seem to remember from my tie-dying days that salt helps set colors.  I could be way off on this.

I put the shirt in a plastic bag and set it out on the back porch to “boil”.  Remember, I live in Florida, and it’s been in the low 80s all week.

Sitting in the porch in a bag:

DSC00839

The colors weren’t looking very vibrant, but they were still there! My roommate immediately tossed her shirt in the washing machine, and most of the color came out, except for a huge blob of blue.

Shirt out of the bag:

DSC00840 DSC00841

The back looks pretty awesome!

It’s not like I’m going to wear this shirt around as a stylish piece of clothing.  I suppose it will be another ‘hitting the gym’ shirt.

I’m letting it dry now, then I guess I’ll wash it; it smells like vinegar!!!  I’m afraid what will happen when I wash it though …

7 thoughts on “DIY – my Color Run t-shirt

  1. I have been looking online and it says to spray with the vinegar and then iron it. Maybe it will work next time. I did one yesterday and before the race it rained so the colors sank into the shirt. I’m going to try the vinegar and iron. 🙂

Leave a Reply

