Wedding Wednesday: 2nd marriages

My 2nd installment of “wedding wednesday” isn’t a super, fluffy, happy one.

I’ve been married before.  Judge all you want, but it’s the truth.  This will be my second marriage.

When I was younger I didn’t want to be a divorced adult.  I was raised that you get married, and that’s it!

Well, it didn’t work out that way.  And I’m ok with that.  I have no regrets.

But that bring me back to this engagement.  I’m super duper excited about wanting to get married.  I’m kind-of ashamed that it’s consuming my brain.  I love my boyfriend (ahem … ‘fiance’) very much.  Planning a marriage and spending the rest of my life with him is going to be awesome!  It’s hard to explain.  I loved my fiance alot before, but now that I know he wants to marry me, I love him waaaaaaaay more … if that makes any sense.

I’m just not one to brag about myself.  “Hey look at me everybody!  I’m getting married!  Shower me with attention!!!!”

But when it’s my 2nd go round at this, I feel even more shy about it.  I mean, most of my friends haven’t even been married once, and here I am.  I get 2 shots at it!  Granted, I’m about 10 years older then most of my friends, so I did have a head start in the dating game.

(I’d like to throw it out there that my 1st wedding was an elopement.  So this is NOT my 2nd big, fancy, typical wedding.)

But I still really worry about everybody’s feelings.  My roommate has been dating her boyfriend for longer then me, and now I’m engaged.  Is she jealous?  Is she pretending to be happy for me?  Does she want to hear about my wedding plans?

How about that friend whos’ been in a relationship for 3 years?  Is she jealous too?  Or the friend who hasn’t had a boyfriend in a while.  Here I go, dating somebody for 10 months, and now it’s suddenly a big deal.

I guess when I hear about engagements, I’m always always happy for the other person, so I have to assume it’s the same for everybody.

4 thoughts on “Wedding Wednesday: 2nd marriages

  1. The vast majority of friends and acquaintances are going to be thrilled for you. Sure, everyone compares where they are in relationships/life with their peers, and so there WILL be moments of contemplation, envy, or even judgment… but that’s like .03% of the picture. If anyone actually thinks less of you for being excited about your upcoming second marriage, they deserve to find a fire and die in it, because it IS exciting and fresh and wonderful. Don’t worry about your friends, because if they’re really your friends, they’re going to be happy to be a part of this journey with you.

  2. Being your roommate, I am extremely excited for you and your fiancé! Time is just like age to me…it is simply a group of digits that are not important. When the time and the age is right, things fall into place. And there is a reason things are working out now verses from your past. Things all happen for a reason, and I would be so sad if you didn’t include me in helping you be excited and plan for this very special and happy occasion. I love you bunches, and please know that I am BEYOND thrilled for you and this new journey you are about to embark. I am not upset at all, my time with Drew-ski will come and it’ll happen when he and I are ready-sooooo needless to say we have a while! 😉

Leave a Reply

