Wedding Wednesday – traditions (part 3)

And the final blog post about wedding traditions and how I pretty much agree with what Cosmo has to say.

6. The not-seeing-each-other-beforehand thing
Cosmo = Honestly, I love this tradition of not seeing my groom until I’m walking down the aisle. It’s kinda romantic, right? But I don’t like the idea of following a superstition that, if we happen to catch a glance of each other, bad luck will befall our marriage. Plus, I’m going to be nervous as sh*t pre-ceremony and I want to be able to hug my fiancé and hear him tell me how pretty I look before we swap vows.
Me = Sorry Cosmo. I don’t agree at all! I LOVE the idea of seeing Chris before the ceremony. We’re planning to take all our photos before hand, so we can actually be at the $10,000 party that we’re planning!

7. The cake smashing
Cosmo = It’s become custom for couples to get into a mini food fight after cutting their ungodly expensive wedding cake. I get it. It’s funny to see people in fancy clothing with food on their faces. Maybe I’m a bit uptight, but I’d prefer not to have chocolate ganache smeared up my nose (or on my dress) on my wedding day. Considering that most couples don’t get a chance to eat at their receptions, I’d much rather put that cake where it belongs—in my belly. And then get myself back out on that dance floor.
Me = It’s not cute when people smash cake into each other’s faces with force. But when a little frosting is blobbed on a nose, that’s kind-of cute.

However, I guess I really don’t want my make up to get all messed up. Lord knows I’ll have it caked on (no pun intended!).

Leave a Reply

