It’s resolution time again!

new-years-resolutions

I know the new trend is to forgo resolutions, but I think they are fun!  I mean, who really, REALLY keeps their resolutions?  Not me, but it’s still fun to give it a shot.

Here goes nothing!

1.            Start crossing stuff off my bucket list … again.

My husband bought me a ukulele for Christmas!  We just got back from our Hawaiian honeymoon (so typical huh?) and I kept shopping around, but they were so expensive.  He surprised me with one bought off Amazon!

“Learn the ukulele” is on my bucket list.  Additional things are “learn to juggle”, “learn the Thriller dance”, “learn sign language”, “learn another language” and “go to the Super Bowl” (along with other things).  Back in 2012 I was newly single and I had time to kill.  I made the goal to start crossing things off.  Well, I started dating my husband in early 2012, and there went that plan!

So one resolution for 2014 is to get back to the bucket list!  First up, start you-tubing ukulele how-tos.

2.            Hit the gym!

Ah – the classic resolution.  However, I’ve been hitting the gym already (thanks to my wedding being in late November).  My pants are all super loose, so I’d like to keep it up.  Keep it under 120 baby!  I have a ton of shorts and pants that fit me back in 2011, then I got a boyfriend and got chubby.  I’d love to say, “I’m going to lose 10 lbs”, but I’ll keep it realistic and say, “don’t gain any weight”.  That should be do-able.

3.            Clothes shopping strike

I was on a clothes shopping strike most of 2013, but then I went to Old Navy (damn them and their $5 off coupons) and went a little nuts buying fun honeymoon clothes.  My closet is overflowing, so NO MORE CLOTHES.  I need absolutely nothing.  No clothes shopping at all (unless I run out of underwear or socks).

4.            Thrift it up!

I’m already the most thrifty person of all time, but improvements can be made.

5.            Eat all the food I make!

This seems obvious, but my husband does not grasp “cooking for 2”.  So we always have a ton of leftovers.  Our random work schedules means we eat both lunch and dinner at work, so I don’t have much time for hot meals (aka – leftovers).  I need to make time for them.  Throwing away food is like throwing away money.  Basically this resolution feeds (see the pun I did there) right into resolution #4.

That just about does it.  Let’s see how these 5 resolutions turn out.  I’ll report back in every so often.

How about you?  Did you make a list of resolutions that you may or may not keep?  🙂

Leave a Reply

