Dopey challenge – day #4

d91d1daff5438b13075ef9fcb42b981e
(I didn’t take this photo, but it was the funniest sign I saw on the course. Especially since I have a history of losing toenails).

Whew – that’s over!

The past 3 days I’ve been saying that that hardest part about the Disney Dopey challenge (day 1 – 5K, day 2 – 10K, day 3 – half marathon, day 4 – marathon) was waking up at 3:45am every day.

Well, today the hardest part was the marathon. Holy !@#$, that’s hard!

I knew it would be. It’s my 4th Disney marathon. I was horribly prepared this year, so I can only blame myself.

Once again, mile 20 is where I start falling off the wagon. I managed to keep up my pace of power walking for 5 minutes and running for 30 seconds all the way up until mile 20. Then I managed to run a couple more times, but the walking really slowed down.

Mile 21-24 I just wished for death and kept plowing forward.

As always, mile 24 (around the Boardwalk and Beach Club) I start to cry. It’s half crying because it hurts and it’s half crying because I’m so glad it’s over.

Mile 25 I put on that song, “all I do is win, win, win no matter what!” on replay and attempted to go as fast as I could. It wasn’t fast at all, but no use to holding anything back at that point.

I always manage to sprint to the finish line and BOOM – done! Then it’s gasping for breath and mild crying as well.

I finished with a blazing time of 6 hours and 33 minutes.

And now I know what it feels like to have horrible arthritis. At least, I assume that’s what it feels like. I can barely walk, and forget about squatting down on the toilet! πŸ™‚

And, hey runDisney DJs …
dopey

3 thoughts on “Dopey challenge – day #4

Leave a Reply

