DIY – rag rug

Giant rugs are expensive! So I decided to make my own for the baby’s room. It’s a tiny room, so the finished product will be about 5′ X 5′. Our entire house (it’s typical Florida) is 100% tile. I assume baby knees will need a rug right?

It’s going to take me a million years, but I figure every time I’m sitting in front of the TV, I can get a tad done. Plus, Bubba isn’t due until the end of November and won’t be crawling for at least another 6 months. I’ve got plenty of time!

It’s a shaggy rag rug, and it’s only going to cost about $25.

Step 1:
I bought 20″ x 60″ rug non-stick pads from Walmart. At first I bought 2, then I went back for a 3rd. They were about $6.50 each.

Make sure you buy one with huge grids. They also sold ones that were more ‘pad’ than holes. I’m guessing that’s a better quality for holding a real rug down (the intended purpose), but not for rag rug purposes!
IMG_1945

Step 2:
Find all those old t-shirts, sheets and fabric scraps. My goal is to not spend a dime on fabric, but I might end up buying some cheep $2/yard cotton. We’ll see how many scraps I can come up with.
IMG_1943

Step 3:
Cut into small strips. I just started cutting, but the pieces are about 3/4″ wide and about 5″ long. They don’t have to be perfect.
IMG_1944

Step 4:
Invite your friends over for “girls night”, and then put them to work! πŸ™‚
IMG_1947

Just start tying. It’s going to be a big mish mash of colors.

Isn’t it cool up close?!?
IMG_1948

Leave a Reply

