DIY race belt

*diy race beltFor the past couple runDisney events I’ve borrowed my roommates spi-belt (I think that’s what it’s called).

Well, I got married, had a baby, and moved out of the apartment. So no more roommate to borrow stuff from. We’re still friends obviously, but she can’t find her 2nd belt for me to borrow!

Option 1 – go to the runDisney expo and buy one for myself
Option 2 – make one!

If you know me, the only option is always ‘make one!’

WARNING – this was not easy!  I found some directions online, but they really didn’t make any sense.  So I just fumbled my way thru this.  If you give it a try, be patient!  🙂

You’ll need:
*  fabric (I suggest cutting up an old race shirt). All I had lying around the house was an old polo shirt. Not the worlds greatest fabric, but I was too lazy to run to Joann.
*  8″ zipper
*  elastic
*  a clippy thing (I cut this one off of a suitcase!
ALL FREE! (well, I had all this stuff lying around the house)
IMG_0503

Step 1:
Cut 2 squares of fabric. One square 8X8″ and the other 6X6″.
IMG_0504

Step 2:
Sew the zipper on the 8″ square. My favorite zipper tutorial is from Dana Made It.
IMG_0505

Step 3: Take that 6″ square and hem 2 of he sides.
IMG_0506

Step 4: Put your elastic thru the 6″ square. Just a tiny tip should be sticking out of one side. Fold one side on to the elastic, then fold the other side over. You’ve made an elastic sandwich!
IMG_0509

Step 5: Sew the side where the elastic tip is sticking out.
IMG_0510

Step 6: Here’s the tricky part. We need to put these 2 pieces together.
IMG_0511

Step 7: I almost want to say, “figure it out on your own!” because this wasn’t easy of obvious.  I turned everything inside out.  I put the elastic piece inside the zipper piece.
IMG_0513

Step 8: Then I smooshed it all together! I laid the sides down, then smooshed down the bubble. You’ll see it come together in the next step (I hope!)
IMG_0515

Step 9: Ta da! The little flappy 6″ square is connected to the 8″ square.
IMG_0518

Step 10: Once you’re 100% sure you’ve done it right (I had to seam rip this apart 2 times before I got it right!), trip the excess.
IMG_0517

Step 11: Deal with the other end. Here’s where I was pretty stumped.  I just made a tiny, super ghetto hem.  “Pin and pray!”  That’s always my theory.  You can see how I folded each side to make it look small, but it will expand when you put stuff inside.
IMG_0519

IMG_0525

IMG_0526

Step 12: Ghetto sew on the clips you ripped off some luggage and you’re done! (normally you’d want these pieces to be expandable. However, the elastic I had just slid right out of the clips, so I measured my waist and just sewed. As I lose some baby weight, I can undo it and sew it up again).
IMG_0527

Ta-da!
IMG_0532

Leave a Reply

