It’s Princess 1/2 marathon time again!

Well, it’s time of year again.  It’s Princess half marathon weekend.

My least favorite thing in the world is Princesses, but I do enjoy the thrill and challenge of a ½ marathon.  And I do enjoy hanging out with my running friends.  So I’ll be out at Epcot bright and early on Sunday!

(by ‘bright and early’ I mean around 4am – ouch!)

Normally, for runDisney events, I’m trying to finish in a 14+minute per mile pace.  I  keep trying to get my ½ marathon time under 3 hours.  I came close last year with 3 hours and 3 minutes.

However, this year will be 100% different.  Being pregnant was pretty horrible, and I got 0 exercise.  I still have 30+lbs on me, and my muscles just don’t seem to be responding to anything I try.

My new goal – just to finish!  And I’d really, really, REALY like to finish with a 16 minute/mile (not 16 min 50 seconds, but 16 min and a few seconds).  Disney requires everybody to maintain a 16 min/mile pace.  However, I’ve found that they are pretty lax with this requirement sometimes (especially for the Princess ½ marathon).  Also, I’m in corral J (based on my numerous runDisney marathon and ½ marathons I assume), so that gives me about a 10 or 12 minute head start over the official timer.  So I can actually finish with about 17 min/miles and be just fine.

But for my own pride, I want to finish with in the stated rules.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

