Working from home

I’m applying for a job where I can work from home.  A few years ago I would’ve probably hated this idea.  Leaving the house for work is sometimes (let’s face it – always) the only interaction with people I get!

However, now that I’ve got Bubba and a new house, working from home sounds absolutely amazing!  I’m actually really pumped for the opportunity.

I’ve thought about it this way:

It takes me about 30 minutes to get ready for work.

I leave the house 45 minutes before work starts (to park my car, walk into the building, etc …)

I work for 8 hours.

It takes me 25 minutes to get home (walking to my car plus drive time)

Besides the 8 hours of work, that other stuff adds up to a whopping 100 minutes!

(I realize I’ll still have to ‘get ready’ for work if I’m working from home, but that should be about 5 minutes of brushing my teeth and putting on clean sweatpants!)

100 minutes A DAY I’ll be saving.

That’s 500 minutes per week.  That’s over 8 hours a week I’ll get back.

Can you imagine what you can do with an extra 8 hours a week?!?  I can tidy up the house or do some crafts or plan fun activities for little Bubba.  I can do more blogging and more pintrest-making!

Also, I’ll be at home for my 30 minute break and my 30 minute lunch.  I can toss in a load of laundry during break and clean the toilet during my lunch.  Each are 5 minute activities, so I can do mini housework items each day, my “weekends” will be free and clear of chores!  Heck, I can go for a quick 1 mile jog on my lunch break (takes about 20 minutes to dress, jog, then cool down).  I can maybe get rid of this extra baby weight.

PLUS (can you tell I’m super duper excited?) I’ll save money on gas, on car maintenance and I’ll never have to buy clothes ever again!  I do enjoy clothes shopping, but I’m also cutting back on spending and I have a closet FULL of stuff.  So I’m ok cutting that part out of my social life.  Sorry Old Navy credit card; I won’t be needing you anymore.

So wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

