Pintrest success (kind-of) – Zucchini Bites

In my desperate need to lose some baby weight (my kid is almost 1!) I pinned this recipe for Zucchini Bites.

Check out the recipe HERE.   Thanks to the Curious Country Cook for the recipe.

Picture 1

Did mine turn out? Let’s see!

Ingredients:
1 cups zucchini
1 egg
1/4 onion
1/4 cup cheese (I used what ever grated cheese I had in my fridge – it was ‘mexican’ style)
1/4 cup bread crumbsSalt and Pepper

Step 1 – Grate 1 big zucchini. Let’s face it, grating things is a huge pain. Thankfully, zucchini is SUPER EASY to grate. It only took me a few seconds to grate the entire thing.

IMG_3333_2

In hindsight, I think I’ll grate them using the smaller holes next time.
IMG_3338_2

Step 2 – Put all your zucchini shavings on a towel or rag, and soak up as much liquid as possible. Turns out zucchini are super liquidy, and you don’t want mushy zucchini bites.

I made a rag/zucchini taco!
IMG_3334

Step 3 – Notice you’ll need 1/4 of an onion. I was too lazy to chop that up, so I just grated it, since I already had a dirty grater on my hands.

IMG_3335_2

I didn’t measure anything. I just grated maybe 1/3 of the onion.

Step 4 – mix your ‘dried’ zucchini, your grated onion, and all the other ingredients into a bowl. Mix.

Of course, I added in some flax seed. I throw that stuff in everything.

Step 5 – Spray those muffin cups with Pam (or generic Wal-mart Pam). Fill muffin cups about 2/3 full. Press down on the zucchini mixture.

IMG_3339_2

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes. Then broil for a few minutes to get the tops all crispy.

Now, here’s where the wheels fall off of my zucchini. I forgot to turn off the broiler! Little Bubba was going nuts!
IMG_3346_2

They looked horrible:
IMG_3352_2

Oddly enough, they still tasted pretty good though.
IMG_3353_2

Leave a Reply

